Sorry about the delay!

Hello everybody, I’m back! Sorry about the delay, but don’t worry. I should be updating more often.

I recently went to San Diego, California on vacation. Mike had a conference, so all I had to pay for was my plane ticket and food. It was an amazing experience. We first stayed at the Gaslamp Plaza Suites, right in the heart of the historical Gaslamp district. It was a very nice hotel. The décor was very 1920’s, which I enjoyed, and the front desk was very helpful recommending places to eat and hang out. We tried a few different breweries, Rock Bottom Brewery and Beer Co., which had fantastic craft beers. We especially loved Beer Co. because the bartender put on the Phillies game for us. The next morning, we got to enjoy a continental breakfast on the rooftop terrace of the hotel. The breakfast wasn’t fantastic, just toast, pastries, cereal, etc. But the view was amazing.

On Saturday, we went to the San Diego Zoo. We decided to walk the whole thing, and man, was that a work out. It was fantastic, but then again I love animals. My favorite was the fennec fox, but he was sleeping when we came by. 😦

Sunday, we moved to our other hotel, the Hilton, and then hopped on a ferry to Coronado beach. The little town was cute, and we did some shopping for ourselves and family/friends. We spent a little time lying out on the beach and drinking beers by the ocean. On our walk back to the ferry, I met a little dachshund named Toby. We became the best of friends (I may have a slight obsession with dachshunds). The ferry ride back was not pleasant; the ferry to our location left before it was supposed to, and we had to take another ferry back that dropped us off about a mile from our hotel. The ferry captain was rude when I asked where our ferry was and didn’t answer me directly. Not so good experience.

Monday, while Mike was at his conference, I took a trolley tour that dropped me off at many different stops in San Diego. I was able to walk around Balboa Park, where there are many museums and gardens. The Japanese Friendship garden was gorgeous. I saw hummingbirds flit around the waterfalls, koi beg for food in a pond with a turtle shaped island, and beautiful flora arrangements. I was able to have lunch and tea here, and it was very relaxing, so serene. I moved on to go checkout some museums, hit the Air and Space Museum, and went to the Museum of Man. I’m a psychology person, so anything about “man” is usually interesting to me. They had an exhibit on torture equipment used throughout the ages, and I paid the extra money to see both the museum and special exhibit. Unfortunately the torture exhibit turned my stomach so much that I had to lap around quick and leave. My anxiety increased, so I went to the actual museum to see if it was any better. It was your standard museum about culture, evolution, etc. Again, I started getting very uncomfortable, so I decided it was time to head back to the trolley stop. I didn’t get off the trolley much after that, but enjoyed listening to the drivers talk about the city. San Diego was beautiful, and I would definitely move there again.

Summer Update:

-Zoo!
-Coffee Shop Date: We found a cute little coffee shop in San Diego. I got to drink a “Dirty Chai” which was chai tea latte with a shot of espresso. Yum.

And that’s it for now. 🙂 I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

